MGS Early Career Award

This award is an opportunity for young geotechnical professionals to showcase their work and early career progression.

The winner of the Young MGS Award will be put forward on behalf of the Society to be considered in the national competition for sponsorship from the BGA to attend the International Young Engineers Conference on Soil Mechanics in the following year. There will also be the following MGS prizes awarded:

1st place: £100

2nd place: £50

3rd place: £25

4th place: £10

Click here for more details

Previous winners..

1st place:

2nd place:

3rd place:

4th place:


Reza Movahedifar (University of Birmingham)

Mike Morrison (Arup)

Hannah Teal (Arup)

Phi Doan (Atkins)


Chris Wilkes (Arup)

Alex Seal (Aecom)

& Joanna Tsoi (Atkins)


Mersade Cartwright (Arup)

& Sanduni Gunaratne (Coventry University)

William Kan (Aecom)


Fiona Hughes (Arup)

Tom Farr (WSP)

Natalie Wride (Arup)

Mauro Iannazzone (Balfour Beatty)

Les Nichol Award

Click on Les Nichol Award on main menu for more details.

University of Birmingham Geotechnical Engineering MSc Awards

There are two awards made to students on the University of Birmingham MSC Geotechnical Engineering course; Best Overall Performance Award and Best Project Award.

The Best Overall Performance Award is presented to the student with the best performance throughout the academic year, taking course work, project work and exam performance in to account.

The Best Project Award looks at the students performance in their end of year dissertation and is awarded to the student who submits the best overall project dissertation

A certificate and prize money of £500 are awarded for each annually. Details of past winners can be found here